Image by Felix Mooneeram

Villanova Players are a community theatre group in Morningside, Brisbane. Established in 1948, we perform four Mainhouse shows a year, and two Intermezzo productions. We produce plays of all varieties from classics to contemporary, and have also been known to do the occasional musical.

 

Villanova Players is a repertory theatre group which means our membership is a little different to most. We don't hold open auditions, but invite prospective members to attend our monthly meetings, get to know us and then apply to join.

 

Monthly meetings consist of a formal members meeting, followed by up to an hour of entertainment provided by the members. These performances are used to showcase our members' abilities and familiarise the casting committee with their skills. The casting committee, in consultation with the director, chooses the cast of each show.

 

MEETING DATES 2022

3rd Wednesday of the Month, 7.30pm

 

Wed 19 Jan - Jolly Centre Workshop - AGM

Wed 16 Feb - Venue TBC

Wed 16 Mar

Wed 20 Apr

Wed 18 May

Wed 15 Jun

Wed 20 Jul

Wed 17 Aug

Wed 21 Sep

Wed 19 Oct

Wed 16 Nov

Members actively participate in the running of the group and shows are cast from members in the first instance. If the casting committee is unable to cast from within, we may invite actors, crew and technicians from outside the group to join us for a production.

 

Want to become a member?

how it works...

APPLY

Fill in a membership application form here

ATTEND

Come along to a meeting on the 3rd Wednesday of the month

PAY

When your application is approved, pay your membership fee here

PARTICIPATE

Get involved!

Send us an email, subscribe to the newsletter or check out our Facebook page for opportunities to help

Management Committee

President

Vice President

Secretary

Treasurer


 


Leo Bradley

Helen Ekundayo

Desley Nichols

Lucy Moxon
Michael McNish

Vivien Broadbent
Robert Gettons
Lorraine Fox

Casting Committee

Jane Binstead
Jean Spencer
Maria Thompson
Viv Braybrook
Vivien Broadbent

Patrons

Ms Judi Connelli
The Most Reverend Mark Coleridge, Archbishop of Brisbane
The Honourable Justice Debra Mullins AO